Budget Tip: Stock up on Gifts

I’ve said it before, and I still stand by my statement: I would much rather give gifts than receive them. I love, love, love Christmas shopping, but I HATE draining my bank account around the holiday season (not to mention all of those annoying long lines at the mall between Thanksgiving and Christmas). So, one way to save yourself some money (and stress!) is to start your holiday shopping A.S.A.P.! This also works for birthdays and other holidays and events you know will be approaching quickly!

One of my favorite things to do is keep a running list of gift ideas for the people I need to buy for. Pay close attention when shopping with these individuals, as they will often drop hints as they browse: “Oh, I’d like to have one of those” or “Wow, I’ve always wanted one of these” or “I need that!”. Make a mental note of the item and the price, and as soon as you can, jot it down on paper… otherwise you will most likely forget about it later (trust me!).

Use your time to look for good deals on the items on your lists. That way you can get them for a decent price and save them until the gift-giving day arrives! Also, check clearance sections in stores for gift ideas that you may not have on your list. For example, my brother is always the hardest person to buy for when it comes to Christmas presents. So, a few weeks ago when I came across a certain item at Kohl’s I knew I just HAD to get for him, I was super excited. Without revealing the present, it was an item originally priced for $40.00, and I scored it for $4.00! A 90% savings!!! KA-CHING!

So keep your eyes open and prepare to do your Christmas shopping months ahead of time. You’ll be a lot happier with the outcome once the big day finally rolls around!

This entry was posted in Budget Tips and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

