Be Patient & Believe in Yourself

I did it! I got the job! Finally! After about four months of waiting, I’ve been offered the position I’ve been hoping to get! It wasn’t an easy journey, but I’ve learned a lot about the waiting process in the meantime.

First of all, patience is everything. I’ve been interviewing with this company for about 3 months now. I applied for one position, interviewed, didn’t get the job, but they asked if I would like to interview for another position they had in a different office. I said sure, and interviewed for that office. Again, I didn’t get the job, but they had a third position for me to interview for. I agreed, and I guess my persistence and patience paid off because I GOT THE JOB!!

I also learned that believing in yourself is the number one rule for achieving any goal. There were several times during my job hunt that I got totally discouraged that no one was ever going to see any potential in me and I started applying for positions I was wayyy over-qualified for. I got scared of the possibility of actually getting one of those jobs, so on more than one occasion, I asked the employer to throw out my application and no longer consider me. I was finally offered a job at a retail store for a little more than minimum wage, and I was actually supposed to start my training today. But I knew there were at least 3 other jobs which I’d rather have that I was still waiting to hear from or go to second interviews for, so I panicked and called the store to tell them I wasn’t interested in the position anymore. I debated forever before I finally made the decision to call, but I prayed to God that I made the right decision. I knew that I wouldn’t be happy working at the store and that I wouldn’t feel proud of myself and my accomplishments. Drew was pretty upset that I turned down the job because we were starting to wonder if we’d be able to pay our rent next month. I felt as though I’d let him down, but somehow I knew there were better things coming my way. And now I am so happy I had more confidence in myself because if I had been training as a cashier today, I would have missed the phone call offering the position I’ve been waiting for!

I am so excited that the job hunting part of my journey has come to an end and I can now begin this next adventure in my life. Thank you to everyone who has believed in me and encouraged me to only aim for the best!

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

