Recipe: Flake Baked Chicken

One of the first things I look for when it comes to new recipes is something fast and simple. I love to cook, but I don’t love standing in the kitchen for hours at a time and dirtying up a zillion and one dishes. That must be why this recipe is one of my favorites! It’s so easy to make and it’s ready in about 20 minutes! I’m even willing to bet you’ve already got the ingredients on hand! I found this recipe in a cookbook all about cooking dinner fast! It has mayonnaise in it, which I was a little worried about because I don’t like mayonnaise… but I LOVE THIS CHICKEN! The mayo makes it moist and juicy, and the flavors blend together so nicely. This is definitely one of our favorite meals in my house!

??????????

Ingredients:
4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I used tenders)
4 Tbs mayonnaise
2 C plain cereal flakes
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

Go ahead and preheat your oven to 475 degrees F.
Pound your chicken breasts to tenderize until they’re about 1/2 inch thick. Arrange them in a single layer in a 13×9 inch baking dish (I only made half the recipe in my pictures because I was only cooking for my husband and myself!). Spread about 1 Tbs of the mayonnaise on top of each breast and coat them well.

*Be smart and don’t stick your spoon back in the mayonnaise jar after it’s touched the raw chicken!*

??????????

Combine the cereal, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper in a large plastic bag. Crush the cereal (a rolling pin works well for this) and shake the bag to mix well. Sprinkle the crumbs evenly over the chicken.

?????????? ??????????

Bake about 15 minutes, until the chicken is cooked through and the crumbs start to brown. If you’re chicken needs to cook a little longer, you may want to cover the dish with foil to prevent burning the crumbs!

??????????

Last but not least… ENJOY! Yum!

??????????

Flake Baked Chicken
Ingredients:

4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I used tenders)
4 Tbs mayonnaise
2 C plain cereal flakes
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 475 degrees F.
2. Pound the chicken breasts to tenderize and arrange in a single layer in a 13×9 inch baking dish. Spread about 1 T of mayonnaise on top of each breast, coating well. Set aside.
3. Combine the cereal, garlic powder, onion powder, salt, and pepper in a large plastic bag. Crush the cereal and shake bag to mix well. Sprinkle the crumbs evenly over the chicken and bake until the chicken is cooked through and the crumbs start to brown, about 15 minutes.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

