Simple Gifts

I don’t think I’m being biased when I claim that West Virginia is home to some of the most generous people you will ever meet. I can’t think of one person I know who wouldn’t go out of their way or give something of themselves to help out another in need. When someone is sick or passes away, our communities become closer to comfort and care for those who are hurting or mourning. We are simply giving people. Personally, when it comes to gifts, I get greater joy out of giving a gift to someone else than I do from receiving a gift. I’ve always been like that, and even today while I don’t have a job yet and I need to be frugal with my money, I can’t walk through a store without seeing something and thinking, “That would be a perfect gift for [Insert Name Here].”

My husband, Drew, drives me crazy when it comes to giving him gifts! I fight the same battle every year for his birthday, Christmas, and Valentine’s day… which is quickly approaching! He always (somehow) finds out that I’ve gotten him a gift, and he will NOT let it go until A.) he searches the whole house and finds where I’ve hidden it B.) he annoys me enough that I end up giving it to him early or C.) he somehow guesses what it is, realizes he’s right, and then annoys me until I end up giving it to him early anyway!

BUT–This Valentine’s Day I decided I was not going through this again. I ordered him a present from Amazon, and didn’t say anything about it at first. But of course, I eventually let it slip and told him I had ordered him something. Still, he didn’t know if I had already gotten it or not, so he was bugging me about that, and he even attempted to hack into my Amazon account! I thought everything was going to be okay, but I just have to laugh at the irony of this next part. The day I thought the package was set to arrive, I waited for UPS man. He usually gets to our house about 4:00 pm, and by 5:30, I was convinced he wasn’t coming. So I decided to head to the store to pick up a few items, and who did I happen to pass on the way out of my road? The UPS man, of course! Drew was the one ended up signing for the package, and boy was he happy about that. But luckily my husband is a pretty good guy and didn’t open it (or maybe it was my threat that if he opened it, he would never ever ever get another gift ever again…), and I was able to come home and hide it in my top secret hiding place that he hasn’t discovered yet! Let’s just hope he doesn’t find it in the next few days before Valentine’s Day!

Gifts are nice to receive and fun to give, but really I think it is more important to take note of the little gifts that you and your spouse give each other every day. Like, when one of us makes the other a sandwich and remembers to slice it diagonally because that’s the best way. Or when he gets up earlier than me and wakes me up to a freshly cooked omelet. Or when I finally let him use my super soft, super luxurious, and super special Egyptian cotton towel that I’ve never let anyone else touch before (I hope you are enjoying it this week, honey!). And of course these gifts don’t have to come from significant others, they can come from friends, too. Like an unexpected phone call or message from your best friend. Noticing these small gifts can help strengthen your relationships and lead you to further appreciate the things that others do for you. And hopefully inspire you to do more of the simple things for others.

This entry was posted in Life, Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

