Decorating on a Dime: Valentine’s Day

Anyone who knows me knows how much I looove to decorate for the holidays! Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter… I always have. My dad goes all out when it comes to decorating for Christmas, and ever since I was a little girl, I would help him drag out the numerous boxes of the decorations and put each item in its proper place. That must be where my love for holiday themed decorations came from. A lot of the decorations sold in stores can be so outrageously priced, though! And especially right now while my husband is still in school and I am job searching, we have to be tight with our money.

But Valentine’s Day is coming up, and my house has been decorated for the international day of love for about three weeks now! I managed to put together a few projects that weren’t too hard on my bank account. Check them out!

??????????

This first one is super simple and Pinterest-inspired! I bought these three wine glasses at the Dollar Tree around Christmastime and used them in a similar way with Christmas bulbs underneath. I have them lined up on my coffee table and used the heads from a stem of silk roses I also got from the Dollar Tree (I think it had 5 rose heads on one stem) underneath each one. Place a candle on top and you’re good to go! I’ve been using these silver LED candles that I got at Big Lots. I think there were 10 in the pack for $5, but real votive candles could work, too… just don’t leave them unattended! The rose petals I have scattered around were something I’ve had for a while, but I’m sure you could find some cheap ones at the Dollar Tree.

??????????

I love using books to decorate with, and I usually use a stack like this for every holiday! I got these three books at Big Lots for $.50 each and used coordinating sheets of holiday themed scrapbooking paper to cover them! I like to stack them up and put something decorative on top, so I chose this cute little vase from the Dollar Tree with a votive candle inside, along with a leftover rose head from that stem of roses I used with the wine glasses.

??????????

Now, I can’t take credit for this wreath. I saw this tutorial from Cheryl at That’s What {Che} Said and fell in love with how adorable it is, so check out her blog to see the directions! It’s made from 3 yards of material and some felt on a straw wreath. Super easy and super affordable!

??????????

Honestly, I probably wouldn’t have gone out of my way to purchase these coasters, but they were a wedding gift. You are supposed to fill them with photos, but I just didn’t feel right about placing beverages on the faces of my loved ones, so I’ve been changing out squares of scrapbooking paper to go with each holiday/season! But if you head over to Budget Savvy Diva’s site HERE, she gives a great tutorial on how to make some cheap holiday coasters, if you’re interested!

??????????

Happy decorating!

This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Decorating on a Dime: Valentine’s Day

  1. Your wreath turned out great!!! Thanks for the shout out! Happy weekend!

  2. Recommended Site says:

    I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and interesting,
    and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem
    is something that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy I found this in my search for something regarding this.

  3. Felipe Biscahall says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your site. You have some really good posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Cheers!

  4. Pingback: Decorating on a Dime: Christmas | My Home Among the Hills

Leave a Reply

